Jeanne Kalogridis


I, MONA LISA takes place in Florence in 1478. The handsome Giuliano de’ Medici is brutally assassinated in Florence’s magnificent Duomo. The shock of the murder ripples throughout the great city, from the most artists such as Leonardo da Vinci and Michelangelo, to a wealthy wool merchant and his extraordinarily beautiful daughter, Madonna Lisa.

More than a decade later, Florence falls under the dark spell of the preacher Savonarola, a fanatic who burns paintings and books as easily as he sends men to their deaths. Lisa, now grown into an alluring young woman, captures the heart of Giuliano’s newphew and namesake. But when her love Giuliano meets a tragic end, Lisa must gather all her courage and cunning to untangle a sinister web of illicit love, treachery, and dangerous secrets that threaten her life.

Set against the drama of fifteenth-century Florence, I, MONA LISA is painted in many layers of fact and fiction, with each intricately drawn twist told through the captivating voice of the Mona Lisa herself.”

Praise for I, MONA LISA | Read the first chapter
Learn more about Lisa's world: People and Places

A Novel of Catherine de Medici

Confidante of Nostradamus, scheming mother-in-law to Mary, Queen of Scots, and architect of the bloody St. Bartholomew’s Day massacre, Catherine de Medici is one of the most maligned monarchs in history. In her latest historical fiction, Jeanne Kalogridis tells Catherine’s story—that of a tender young girl, destined to be a pawn in Machiavellian games.

Born into one of Florence’s most powerful families, Catherine was soon left a fabulously rich heiress by the early deaths of her parents. Violent conflict rent the city state and she found herself imprisoned and threatened by her family’s enemies before finally being released and married off to the handsome Prince Henry of France.

Overshadowed by her husband’s mistress, the gorgeous, conniving Diane de Poitiers, and unable to bear children, Catherine resorted to the dark arts of sorcery to win Henry’s love and enhance her fertility—for which she would pay a price. Against the lavish and decadent backdrop of the French court, and Catherine’s blood-soaked visions of the future, Kalogridis reveals the great love and desire Catherine bore for her husband Henry, and her stark determination to keep her sons on the throne.

Praise for THE DEVIL'S QUEEN | Read the first chapter

A Novel of Caterina Sforza

What Philippa Gregory has done for Tudor England, Jeanne Kalogridis does for Renaissance Italy. Her latest irresistible historical novel is about a countess whose passion and willfulness knew no bounds—Caterina Sforza

Daughter of the Duke of Milan and wife of the conniving Count Girolamo Riario, Caterina Sforza was the bravest warrior Renaissance Italy ever knew. She ruled her own lands, fought her own battles, and openly took lovers whenever she pleased.

Her remarkable tale is told by her lady-in-waiting, Dea, a woman knowledgeable in reading the “triumph cards,” the predecessor of modern-day Tarot. As Dea tries to unravel the truth about her husband’s murder, Caterina single-handedly holds off invaders who would steal her title and lands. However, Dea’s reading of the cards reveals that Caterina cannot withstand a third and final invader—none other than Cesare Borgia, son of the corrupt Pope Alexander VI, who has an old score to settle with Caterina. Trapped inside the Fortress at Ravaldino as Borgia’s cannons pound the walls, Dea reviews Caterina’s scandalous past and struggles to understand their joint destiny, while Caterina valiantly tries to fight off Borgia’s unconquerable army.

Praise for THE SCARLET CONTESSA | Read the first chapter

THE BORGIA BRIDE is set in Italy 1492: Pope Alexander VI is elected. And so begins the Borgia reign of terror. Alexander murders, bribes and betrays to establish his dynasty. Every day, the River Tiber is full of new bodies. Sancha de Aragon, daughter of King Alfonso II of Naples, arrives in Rome newly wed to Alexander’s youngest son, Jofre. Their marriage protects Naples against the ambitions of the French King Louis and gains Spanish support for the Borgias. But Rome is very different to her beloved Naples. The debauchery of the Borgia inner circle is notorious. Sancha is no innocent however: she possesses an indomitable spirit which allows her to survive in the snakepit.

The Borgia Bride is a sumptuous historical novel of passion, betrayal, scheming and incest, set in the Vatican during the 15th century, one of the most exciting, violent and also sensual times of European history.

Praise for THE BORGIA BRIDE | Read the first chapter
Learn more about Sancha’s world: People and Places.

THE BURNING TIMES tells the story of Sybille, a midwife with the Sight, the power to see the present and future. Soon her power and her practice of the Old Religion causes her to be caught up in the forces of the Inquisition, where she meets Michel, a young monk struggling to repress his desire for her and his feelings about being the interrogator whose success must lead to her death.

Set in 14th-century France, in the southern region of Languedoc known for its heretical pagans, Gnostics, Cathars, and Knights Templar The Burning Times weaves together a tale of magic, mystery and intertwined destiny against the historical backdrop of the Black Death and the Hundred Years War.

Praise for THE BURNING TIMES | Read the first chapter
Learn more about Sybille's world: People and Places

THE DIARIES OF THE FAMILY DRACUL - Beginning fifty years before the start of Bram Stoker's novel, Covenant with the Vampire introduces us to Dracula's family, who are bound by a covenant as ancient as their blood to serve Dracula and to protect him. The bestselling THE DIARIES OF THE FAMILY DRACUL trilogy, which spans fifty years, reconciles the historical personage of Prince Vlad the Impaler (d. 1476) with the fictional vampire in Stoker's famous novel. Stepped in the history and lore of medieval Romania, it traces the saga of Prince Vlad and his sadistic relationship with his descendants.


Praise for The DIARIES OF THE FAMILY DRACUL | Read the first chapter
Learn more about Vlad the Impaler's world: People and Places